Participation Information

Player Information


Past Events



Follow Jason

Arizona Golfer Newspaper




Our League

The Saturday Golf League is a co-ed club located in the greater Phoenix metro area, and is a member of both the Arizona Golf Association (AGA) and the Arizona Women's Golf Association (AWGA). Join us for weekly golf tournaments all around the Valley of the Sun.  We offer prizes and lots of fun and excitement. Our members may also apply for a USGA/GHIN handicap through us.  Check out The Saturday Golf League links (above) and resources. To receive information about the Saturday Golf League, click here.

Final Results for 2016 – 2017 Tony Albrecht Championship…

The 2017 Tony Albrecht Cup Champions were honored at the season ending Final Round at the We Ko Pa Golf Club in Fort McDowell which culminated a 4 week playoff for $3,000.00 in prizes. By using a new updated point schedule assured that the final results would be tight until the last putt dropped. 51 players qualified for this year’s championship in a record breaking 37 event season. In the 1st Flight – Dan Gallegos held off some tough challenges to take the 1st place prize, followed by Don Lucas, Tim Borgwardt, Dan Sievers and Tom Hegna. In the 2nd Flight – Dave Dean survived a last putt miss by Ben Goodwin for the 1st place award followed by Michael Broudy, Elmer Schmidt and Michael Kennedy. In the 3rd Flight – Oscar Delgado played consistent golf to secure the 1st place title followed by Jandy Hughes, Steve Ballard, Mike Tobin and Claudette Raphael. (Pictured are Dan Gallegos, Dave Dean and Oscar Delgado) Final Standings Photos


Another Albatross, are you kidding…

Jeff Morrissey accepting a special award from Saturday Golf League President Dave Dean for recently getting a “Double Eagle” during an event on 4/29/2017 at the Legacy Golf Resort in Chandler. The framed score card was presented during the season final event awards lunch at the We Ko Pa Golf Club. Scoring a “2” on the par 5 – 490 yard – 18th hole, according to the staff, had never been done. What is more amazing is that Jeff also carded 3 other deuces on the back nine, witness Tom Hegna is quoted “4 – 2’s in seven holes, two birdies an eagle and an albatross, it was crazy!!!” This is the third albatross recorded in the league’s 25 year history with Jim Bieleniewicz getting one last year and Manny Verdugo back in 2005.

Elmer Schmidt is crowned 2017 Match Play Champion…

After 11 exhausting rounds of intense competition, it came down to a 5 foot putt on the 18th hole. Elmer Schmidt coolly rolled it in to secure the win over the defending champion Ben Goodwin. The final 18 holes at the Legacy Golf Resort had a tight back and forth match throughout with the pressure building as the day wore on. For his win, Elmer took home the $300.00 first place prize followed by Ben in second and Nolan Murphy in third. Pictured is Elmer accepting the check from SGL Special Events Coordinator Dan Gallegos. Bracket Summary


The 2016 - 2017 Tony Albrecht Cup...

The Boulders, TPC Champions, Grayhawk Raptor, Verrado Golf Club – the list of top-notch courses booked for the 2016-17 SGL season goes on and on, and this coming season our special, annual “Ringers” event will be conducted over five rounds at Talking Stick Golf Resort’s beautiful South Course.

The 2016-17 SGL season begins September 3, 2016 and runs through April 29, 2017. There will be 32 SGL events scheduled during the 2016-2017 season. SGL members earn points weekly for the Tony Albrecht Cup over the course of the season. SGL members who play a minimum of 8 rounds between September 3 and the last Saturday in April 2017 are eligible to play for the 2016-2017 Tony Albrecht Cup and more than $3,000 in prize money.

This coming season, players will earn 1 bonus point towards the Tony Albrecht Cup seeding for each round played between September 3, and April 29, 2017, also 1 point for each flight win. Play for the 2016-2017 Tony Albrecht Cup will take place Saturdays on May 6, 13, 20 and 27.

Get in position to win prize money and the prestigious Tony Albrecht Cup; play more rounds with the Saturday Golf League!

VGA takes home the 2016 O’Keefe Cup…

The Saturday Golf League competed in a Ryder style match play event against the Valley Golfers Association at the Ken McDonald Golf Course in Tempe on Thanksgiving Saturday. This event named the O’Keefe Cup after Jim O’Keefe a VGA player of very long standing who passed away this year. 60 players (of which 11 double dipped) from both leagues competed with the final score of the team match 9 ½ to 6 ½ in favor of the VGA. The match consisted of 6 Four-Ball matches and 10 Single matches with tight competition on both sides. Outstanding performances were turned in by Dan Campos with a gross score of 2-under 70 and also Steve Richter who won 1st place in both leagues with a gross score of 77 (net 64). The VGA gets to hold the O’Keefe Cup until the next competition match and also gets to choose the venue. (Pictured above is Tom Hecocks VGA Captain and winner of The O’Keefe Cup) Final Results


Wire to wire finish for Lucas in Wigwam Warriors...

Just another walk in the park for Don Lucas who easily out lasted the field in the first ever “Wigwam Warrior” competition and collected the $225 first prize. The Wigwam Warrior event consisted of playing the three Wigwam courses (Gold, Patriot and Heritage) and having the best combined Net Scoring Average. A 3-way tie for second place included Erston Senger, Joe Pilewicz and Mike Tobin who each collected $85 for their efforts. Ken Baca got his entry back of $25 with the fifth place finish. Final Standings

Bieleniewicz records “Double Eagle” at Starfire...

Scoring a “2” on a par 5 is so uncommon that it is nearly impossible to calculate the odds. In any case, long time member Jim Bieleniewicz accomplished the feat on 2/27/2016 at the SGL event at the Starfire Golf Club in Scottsdale. The 479 yard #4 hole on the Hawk course was the opening par 5 of the Hawk to King event on a usual perfect Arizona golf day. Playing partners in the group who witnessed the achievement were Steve Oliva, Bradley Walker and Jeff Morrissey. As described by Jim, after hitting driver off the tee to the left side of the fairway and getting a yardage of 196 to the flag from Morrissey, he faded a 4 iron to the green with a right middle flag position. Not knowing exactly where the ball had ended up, Oliva watched as Jim walked up and looked into the hole, and then Jim looked up and smiled and said “It’s in the Hole”. Jim went on to a shoot a 1 over par 71 and finish 1st in his flight. Pictured above is SGL President Dave Dean presenting Jim with the framed score card of his feat. Congratulations Jim!  


SGL scores another AGA Championship ...

The team of Richard Carroll, Steve Richter and Dave Dean combined to take home the Arizona Golf Association’s 2015 Senior Cup Series. The Senior Cup Series is comprised of 10 events throughout the summer using a four-ball stroke play format to qualify the top 80 of the over 300 competitors for the championship. This year’s championship team of Carroll and Dean accumulated 50 points under Stableford scoring at the Encanterra Country Club to secure the win. This is the second time in the last 4 years that Richard has won the championship, who back in 2012 teamed with Kim Snyder for the title.


New Membership Referral Program...

Starting 9/1/2013 the SGL will start a new membership promotion. For every new player that is brought in by an existing member and becomes a new member, both will receive $25 credit. New members must complete 3 qualifying rounds and establish a SGL handicap index, sponsors name must be declared prior to first qualifying round.